This is the "Home" page of the "New Law Library Acquisitions - May 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Law Library Acquisitions - May 2013  

Selected new titles added to the Law Library's collection in May 2013.
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.law.quinnipiac.edu/may2013 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Titles

Cover Art
The American constitutional order : history, cases, and philosophy - Douglas W. Kmiec
Call Number: KF4549 .K55 2009
ISBN: 1422426394
Publication Date: 2009
Contents: The philosophical and natural law basis of the American order : remote and immediate ancestors -- The declaration and its constitution : linking first principle to necessary means -- A structurally-divided, but workable, government -- A limited government of enumerated power -- A government mindful of dual sovereignty -- A fair government -- A government commitment to freedom -- A government commitment to equality -- A government of imperfect knowledge : of inkblots, liberty and life itself

Cover Art
Bioinformatics law : legal issues for computational biology in the post-genome era - Jorge L. Contreras and A. James Cuticchia, editors
Call Number: K3611.G46 B557 2013
ISBN: 1627220100
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Careers in IP law : avenues and opportunities - Sharra S. Brockman
Call Number: KF3165.Z9 B76 2013
ISBN: 1614389993
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Getting your feet wet : an introduction to intellectual property law and practice -- Get Ready, get set : preparing to practice intellectual property law during law school or preparing to make a change as an established lawyer -- Promoting the progress of science : patent law as a specialty -- And the useful arts : copyright law as a specialty -- What's in a name? : trademark law as a specialty -- IP goes incognito : trade secret law as a specialty -- Now what? : common intellectual property practice areas -- The sky's the limit : employment opportunities for intellectual property lawyers -- Lessons from the trenches : advice from practitioners -- Diving in : how to get involved in the ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law (ABA-IPL)

Cover Art
The contract bond surety's subrogation rights - George J. Bachrach, James D. Ferrucci, Dennis J. Bartlett, editors
Call Number: KF1045.A75 C66 2013
ISBN: 1627220127
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: The contract bond surety's common law right to equitable subrogation : the basics / Samuel J. Arena, Jr., Lee A. Rosenbard, David E. Somers, III and Alex L. Rubenstein -- The treatment of the fundamental principles of the surety's subrogation rights in the restatement of the law / T. Scott Leo -- The parties' rights to which the contract bond surety is subrogated / Brett D. Divers and Brandon J. Held -- The necessity of the principal's default / Carol Z. Smith -- The necessity of the surety's performance / David W. Slaughter -- The necessity of notice to the obligee or third parties / Joel M. Long -- The surety v. the obligee / Thomas J. Vollbrecht -- The surety v. the principal / Jay M. Mann -- The surety v. third party beneficiaries under the surety's payment bonds (payment bond claimants) / Lawrence Lerner -- The surety v. the assignee/lender / Steven H. Rittmaster -- The surety v. trustees/debtors in bankruptcy / Chad L. Schexnayder -- The surety v. other taxing authorities and governmental lienors / Matthew M. Horowitz -- The surety v. general creditors and judgment creditors / David C. Olson and Shannah J. Morris -- Common obligee theory and other setoff rights : the surety's subrogation rights to the obligee's or principal's setoff rights / Jarrod W. Stone -- The surety subrogation rights and claims against the federal government / Omar J. Harb, David J. Krebs and Cynthia E. Rodgers-Waire -- The surety's subrogation rights against third parties / Christopher R. Ward and Lawrence R. Moelmann

Cover Art
Discovery problems and their solutions - Paul W. Grimm, Charles S. Fax, Paul Mark Sandler
Call Number: KF8900 .G758 2013
ISBN: 1614389586
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Discovery is the inescapable, enduring feature of modern civil litigation. Since 1960, the United States civil justice system has witnessed a litigation explosion and trial implosion. The number of cases has skyrocketed, but the number of trials has declined -- both proportionately and, in federal court, absolutely. Putting aside all other issues raised by the vanishing trial phenomenon, it clearly accentuates the critical importance of discovery. Parties evaluate cases, and make judgments about settlement value and other disposition techniques, in light of the evidence gathered in discovery. Effective discovery is crucial. Provided by the Publisher.

Cover Art
Family law trial evidence handbook : rules and procedures for effective advocacy - Steven N. Peskind
Call Number: KF505 .P47 2013
ISBN: 1627220038
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This handbook is organized in a practical format that can work for all family law trial lawyers, regardless of whether they practice in a state that uses a variation on the Federal Rules or a common law body of rules on evidence. It combines the substantive knowledge critical to assist family lawyers understand the concepts and theories of evidence with a supremely useful format that ensures that the necessary information can be located and absorbed quickly. Provided by the Publisher.

Cover Art
Frequently asked antitrust questions - ABA Section of Antitrust Law
Call Number: KF1649.3 .F74 2013
ISBN: 1614389268
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Expanded topics include:
•communications with competitors,
•dealing with antitrust authorities in the United States and abroad,
•the Robinson-Patman Act and other pricing issues,
•vertical arrangements between customers and suppliers, and more.
Provided by the Publisher.

Cover Art
Individual rights and the American constitution - Douglas W. Kmiec
Call Number: KF4748 .K64 2009
ISBN: 1422426416
Publication Date: 2009
Contents: The declaration and its constitution -- A government respectful of individual conscience -- A fair government -- A government commitment to freedom -- A government commitment to equality -- A government of imperfect knowledge : of inkblots, liberty and life itself.

Cover Art
IRA guide to IRS compliance issues : including IRA Trust violations - Seymour Goldberg, CPA, MBA, JD
Call Number: KF6395.R35 G645 2013
ISBN: 1614388512
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This essential guide outlines many of the mistakes that are made by IRA account holders from an IRS compliance point of view, understanding that is quite easy for a taxpayer who has an IRA or inherits an IRA to fall into a tax trap and violate the IRA rules. The IRA Guide to IRS Compliance Issues will help you be aware of the potential IRA violations that may be triggered and how to be proactive and not reactive when it comes to IRA issues. From the Publisher.

Cover Art
The law of class action : fifty-state survey, 2012-2013 - Elizabeth J. Cabraser and Fabrice Vincent, editors
Call Number: KF8896 .L39 2013
ISBN: 1614389640
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: The Law of Class Action: Fifty-State Survey 2012-2013 contains an up-to-date analysis of class action law in each of the fifty states. From the Publisher.

Cover Art
Learn about the United States : quick civics lessons for the naturalization test - U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Call Number: KF4819.85 .L43 2013
ISBN: 0160917085
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: "100 questions and answers for the naturalization test"--Accompanying sound disc label

Cover Art
The legal assistant's complete desk reference : a handbook for paralegals and assistants - Ursula Furi-Perry, editor
Call Number: KF320.L4 L449 2013
ISBN: 1614389950
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This is a complete guide to the rules and regulations guiding paralegals and legal assistants,as well as the many different types of forms they are responsible for each day. This comprehensive handbook also explores the career opportunities open to paralegals and legal assistants, as well as some common areas of legal practice and what they entail. From the Publisher.

Cover Art
The mind and method of the legal academic - Jan M. Smits
Call Number: K100 .S62 2012
ISBN: 0857936549
Publication Date: 2012
Summary: "In a context of changing times and current debate, this highly topical book discusses the aims, methods and organization of legal scholarship. Jan Smits assesses the recent turn away from doctrinal research towards a more empirical and theoretical way of legal investigation and offers a fresh perspective on what it is that legal academics should deal with and how they should do it. The book also considers the consequences which follow for the organization of the legal discipline by universities and uses this context to discuss the key questions of the internationalization of law schools, quality assessments, legal education and the research culture. Being the first book to address the aim and goals of legal scholarship in an international context, this insightful study will appeal to academics, graduate students, researchers and policymakers in higher education"--Provided by publisher

Cover Art
The practitioner's guide to the PCT - Jay Erstling, Samson Helfgott, T. David Reed
Call Number: K1505 .P73 2013
ISBN: 1627220143
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: The Practitioner's Guide to the PCT demystifies the system to help practitioners employ the PCT to their clients advantage. From the Publisher.

Cover Art
Scientific evidence review : admissibility and use of expert evidence in the courtroom - Cynthia H. Cwik, editor
Call Number: KF8935 .S27 2013
ISBN: 1614389977
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Articles addressing current issues and strategic questions at the cross-roads of science, technology and the law. Provided by the Publisher.


Cover Art
Time and workplace management for lawyers - Amy L. Jarmon
Call Number: KF315 .J37 2013
ISBN: 161438908X
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: General observations -- Know your legal environment -- Basic work management parameters -- Basic time management parameters -- How to deal with competing demands on your time -- How to use staff effectively, ask for assistance, and delegate -- Basic parameters for research and writing projects -- Telephones, e-mail, and social media -- Time and work management away from the office -- Additional commitments you must manage -- Additional comments for non-firm lawyers -- Additional comments for solo practitioners -- Balancing your professional and personal lives -- Preventing burnout

Cover Art
Access to asylum: international refugee law and the globalisation of migration control [electronic resource] - Thomas Gammeltoft-Hansen
Call Number: K3268.3 G36 2011, e-book
ISBN: 1107003474
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: 1. Introduction; 2. The refugee and the globalisation of migration control; 3. Refugee protection and the reach of the non-refoulement principle; 4. Offshore migration control and extraterritorial jurisdiction; 5. The privatisation of migration control and state responsibility; 6. The institutional reach of refugee protection; 7. Conclusion

Cover Art
At the edge of law : emergent and divergent models of legal professionalism [electronic resource] - Andrew Francis
Call Number: KD460 .F73 2011, e-book
ISBN: 9780754677444
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Introduction : lawyering at the edge -- Theorizing professional change and advancement in legal services -- Outsiders in legal education and beyond : marginal students, professional identity and access to the legal profession -- Legal executives : chasing shadows or the third branch of the profession? -- Legal aid and legal activists : progressive lawyering and mainstream professionalism -- Wealth professionals : expert knowledge on the intersection of law and accountancy -- Collective professional projects, individual models of advancement and the Legal Services Act 2007 -- Emergent and divergent models of legal professionalism : towards a contingent professionalism

Cover Art
The constitutional origins of the American Revolution [electronic resource] - Jack P. Greene
Call Number: KF4541 .G743 2010, e-book
ISBN: 9780521760935
Publication Date: 2011
Summary: "Using the British Empire as a case study, this succinct study argues that the establishment of overseas settlements in America created a problem of constitutional organization that created deep and persistent tensions within the empire during the colonial era and that the failure to resolve it was the principal element in the decision of thirteen continental colonies to secede from the empire in 1776. Challenging those historians who have assumed that the British had the law on their side during the debates that led to the American Revolution, this volume argues that the empire had long exhibited a high degree of constitutional multiplicity, with each colony having its own discrete constitution and the empire as whole having an uncodified working customary constitution that determined the way authority was distributed within the empire. Contending that these constitutions cannot be conflated with the metropolitan British constitution, it argues that British refusal to accept the legitimacy of colonial understandings of the sanctity of the many colonial constitutions and the imperial constitution was the critical element leading to the American Revolution"-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Globalisation and natural resources law : challenges, key issues and perspectives [electronic resource] - Elena Blanco and Jona Razzaque
Call Number: K3478 .M47 2011, e-book
ISBN: 1848442491
Publication Date: 2011
Notes: Includes bibliographical references

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip