This is the "Home" page of the "Law Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Library Databases  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.law.quinnipiac.edu/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

List of Databases A - Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

  • American Bar Association Journals
    From Hein Online. This is a sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains only titles published by the American Bar Association
  • American Law Institute Library
    From Hein Online. Contains full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the Institute's newsletter, The ALI Reporter. It also includes the Restatements of the Law, Uniform Commercial Code, Model Penal Code, ALI-ABA Periodicals, and the Statement of Essential Human Rights (a pioneering ALI project of the mid-1940s).
  • Association of American Law Schools
    From Hein Online. This collection contains AALS publications such as: AALS Directory of Law Teachers, AALS Handbook, Association of American Law Schools. Proceedings of the Annual Meeting, Clinical Law Review, and Journal of Legal Education.
 

B

Bar Journals
This library includes over 60 Bar Journals. You can search by article title, author, description, date, or across the full text of the articles.

Bloomberg Law**

The Bluebook Online
From the publishers of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. The Bluebook is a style guide for legal citation in the United States.

BNA - Bureau of National Affairs. The most current information in a wide range of legal topics. Weekly reports contain primary source material, news, and current topics. Titles are:

C

Back to Top 

  • CALI
    Internet based legal instruction.
  • Canada - Revised Statutes
    From Hein Online. Complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes of the Revised Statutes of Canada.
  • Canada Supreme Court Reports
    From Hein Online. Contains the official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes more than 9,400 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.
  • Code of Federal Regulations
    From Hein Online. Coverage is comprehensive, containing more than 8,500 volumes dating back to inception (1938).
  • Congress and the Courts
    From Hein Online. This library, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. Also included are Federal Judicial Center Publications, Periodicals, Links to Scholarly Articles, CFR Title 28 - Judicial Administration, Other Related Works, and much more.
  • Congressional Publications
    Congressional publications, historical documents, statutes and legislative research.
  • Connecticut Law Tribune
    Weekly newspaper. Law school access only.
  • Constitutions of the Countries of the World
    Incorporates all the content from Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the Countries of the World and Constitutions of the United States (National and State) into a single searchable interface. Access 188 country constitutions, 170 dependencies and territories constitutions, each of the 50 state constitutions, and the U.S. Constitution.
  • Core U.S. Journals
    From Hein Online. The Core U.S. Journals is a subcollection containing only law journals published in the United States.
  • Criminal Justice Journals
    From Hein Online. This is a sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains only titles pertaining to Criminal Justice.
  • Criminal Justice Periodical Index
    CJPI indexes over 240 journals with subjects related to criminal justice. Links to full text articles when available.
  • Current Index to Legal Periodicals
    Current awareness service; reviews and organizes by subject, articles published by leading legal journals. Published monthly.

E

Back to Top

  • Early American Case Law
    From Hein Online. Contains the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which includes American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports.
  • English Reports
    From Hein Online. The English Reports delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases. Also included in this collection is the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.
  • European Centre for Minority Issues
    From Hein Online. The ECMI conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports and Working Papers.

F

Back to Top

  • Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
    From Hein Online. Featuring reports, decisions, and records, this library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States' most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes more than 65 GPO best-selling legal titles.
  • Federal Legislative History Library
    From Hein Online. Two primary sources of content, the first is the "Sources of Compiled Legislative History database" containing all compilations for major laws. The second is the collection of more than 80 full-text compiled legislative histories from renowned Washington, D.C. law firms, Covington & Burling and Arnold & Porter.
  • Federal Register Library
    From Hein Online. The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
    From Hein Online. This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 600 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Jimmy Carter in 1980.
  • Foreign and International Law Resources Database
    From Hein Online. FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

H

Back to Top

  • Harvard Research in International Law
    The collection includes access to the reprint of The Harvard Research in International Law as well as Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal. The Harvard Research in International Law was originally published in the American Journal of International Law between 1929 and 1939. The various advisory boards that were assembled wrote draft conventions on several topics over a 10-year period.
  • Hein Online
    Provides online access to tens of millions of pages of image-based research material. Image-based meaning that you can see the PDF version of the original hard copy (including all charts, graphs, and photographs) and is fully-searchable.
  • History of Supreme Court Nominations
    From Hein Online. This library features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. Browse by Justice option allows you to see relevant works related to that Justice including links to articles and a bibliography of other works, along with links to Scholarly Articles.

I

Back to Top

  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
    A multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals
    ILP is a leading indexer of legal periodical literature. Links to full text journal articles are provided.
  • International and Non-U.S. Law Journals
    From Hein Online. This is a sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains journals on the subject of international law and journals published outside of the the U.S.
  • International Law Association Reports
    From Hein Online. The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.

L

Back to Top

  • The Law Journal Library
    From Hein Online. Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
  • Legal Classics Library
    From Hein Online. Includes more than 5,500 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many "classics" this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
  • LegalTrac
    Index of law review articles.
  • LexisAdvance
    Law school access only. Password and ID required.
  • LLMC - Digital
    The electronic equivalent of legal literature and government documents in the extensive LLMC microform collection.

M

Back to Top

  • Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926
    Digital images of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching provides researchers access to critical legal history.
  • Manual of Patent Examining Procedures
    From Hein Online. This manual is published to provide U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material relevant to information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.

N

Back to Top

  • National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws - Archive Publications (NCCUSL)
    From Hein Online. This provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended or endorsed by the Conference. It includes the NCCUSL - Archive Publications, Handbook of the NCCUSL and Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting, 1st-119th Conference (1891-2010) are all available transcripts of the Proceedings of each Annual Meeting, as well as the transcripts of the discussions in the Committee of the whole of each Uniform and Model Act. Also included are the approved "successive drafts" of each Uniform and Model Act.
  • National Moot Court Competition
    From Hein Online. Through an arrangement with the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, this collection offers digital access to the records, briefs, and related organizational materials from the 1st to the most recent (1950-current) annual National Moot Court Competitions.
  • New York Legal Research Library
    From Hein Online. This specialized library includes the reports and opinions of the New York Attorney General, the New York State Register, Tax Cases, New York State Session Laws, New York Law Journals, the New York State Bar Association Journal, legal classics from or about New York, New York trials, New York Codes prior to 1923 and State Reports.

P

Back to Top

  • PACER - Public Access to Court Electronic Records  
      
    See Librarian for access. "Electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts."
  • Pentagon Papers
    From Hein Online. Officially titled United States - Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967: A Study Prepared by the Department of Defense. These "Pentagon Papers" are a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political-military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
  • The Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Library
    From Hein Online. Through special arrangement with the International Law Students Association (ILSA) this collection provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960. It draws together the Problems, Judges' Briefs, Rules, and leading written memorials which comprise each competition. In addition, several publications of ILSA are also available.

R

Back to Top

S

Back to Top

  • Securities Mosaic
    Federal government regulatory and disclosure information. Focuses on securities, litigation, communications and energy. Includes news alerts lobbying search and law firm memos search.
  • Selden Society Publication and the History of Early English Law
    From Hein Online. This library includes the Selden Society Annual Series, Selden Society Supplementary Series and the Centenary Guide to the Publications of the Selden Society published in 1987. It also includes more than 220 English Legal History Classics including abridgements, digests and dictionaries. Moreover, you will be able to access early English case law and link to other online publications in early English history.
  • State Attorney General Reports & Opinions
    From Hein Online. This collection includes access to the State Attorney General Reports & Opinions for all fifty states as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Also includes access to the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice and the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States.
  • State Reports: Historical Archive
    From Hein Online. State Reports: A Historical Archive provides a digital version of Hein’s State Reports Checklist along with linking to the full text of historical state reports.
  • State Session Laws Library
    From Hein Online. This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception.
  • State Statutes: Historical Archive
    From Hein Online. Includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. Search the statutes by state, date, description and text. Coverage goes back until 1717.
  • Statistical Insight - Proquest
    More than 30,000 individually indexed statistical tables issued by the federal government. Also includes:

    American Statistics Index (ASI) of federal statistical publications beginning in 1973, including diverse topics such as crime, demography, economics, education, energy, environment, international trade and labor.

    Statistical Reference Index (SRI) of significant statistical publications of state and private sector sources in the U.S. beginning in 1980, including business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research agencies, professional and trade associations and state government.

    Index to International Statistics (IIS) from international intergovernmental organizations beginning in 1983, including the European Union, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, United Nations and World Bank
  • Subject Compilations of State Laws
    From Hein Online. This library features a database giving you access to over 22,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg and Carol Boast Robertson's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline. In addition to a searchable database, HeinOnline also includes the exact replicas of the original bound volumes.

T

Back to Top

  • Tax Foundation Archive Publications
    From Hein Online. This collection provides convenient access to the complete archive of the Tax Foundation's publications, which contain information on taxation, fiscal policy, finance and more. No other fiscal organization in the country enjoys the respect and reputation for objectivity earned by the Tax Foundation. Browse by publication title or subject, or use HeinOnline's powerful search capabilities to search for specific topics.
  • Taxation and Economic Reform in America (Parts 1 and 2)
    From Hein Online. This historical archive contains more than 4,000 volumes and one million pages of legislative history materials and other documents. It includes the complete Carlton Fox Collection which contains nearly 42 years of historical legislation related to the internal revenue laws from 1909-1950. It includes more than 100 other legislative histories related to taxation, economic reform, and stimulus plans.
  • Treaties and Agreements Library
    From Hein Online. This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.

U

Back to Top

  • U.K. Statutes of the Realm
    From Hein Online. Vols. 1-11 (1235-1713).
  • United Nations Law Collection
    From Hein Online. This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
  • U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection
    From Hein Online. This collection includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice).
  • U.S. Code
    From Hein Online. This collection includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice).
  • U.S. Congressional Documents
    From Hein Online. This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-2012), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.
  • U.S. Congressional Documents - Hearing
    From Hein Online. Congressional Hearings, 1927-2012.
  • U.S. Presidential Library
    From Hein Online. This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
    From Hein Online. Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.
  • U.S. Supreme Court Library
    From Hein Online. Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this library.

W

Back to Top

  • WestlawNext
    Law school access only. Password and ID required.
  • Women and the Law
    From Hein Online. Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to women's roles in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a platform to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
  • World Constitutions Illustrated
    From Hein Online. This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
  • World Trade Law
    Includes full text search engine for GATT and WTO cases and documents, and dispute settlement commentaries for all WTO panel and appellate body reports.
  • World Trials Library
    From Hein OnLine. This collection includes more than 3,500 trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip