This is the "Home" page of the "New Law Library Acquisitions - January 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Law Library Acquisitions - January 2014  

Selected new titles added to the Law Library's collection in January 2014.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.law.quinnipiac.edu/January2014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Titles

Cover Art
Americanization of the common law : the impact of legal change on Massachusetts society, 1760-1830 - William E. Nelson
Call Number: KFM2478 .N44 1979
ISBN: 0674029704
Publication Date: 1979
Summary: Americanization of the Common Law remains one of the standard works on the transformation of law in America from the late colonial period to the end of the early republic. In a straightforward manner, William E. Nelson analyzes the profound ideological movement that grew out of the American Revolution and caused substantial structural change in the legal and social order of Massachusetts and, by extension, in the nation at large. The Revolution, Nelson argues, transformed a hierarchical and communitarian legal and social order into an egalitarian and individualistic one. From the Publisher

Cover Art
Bankruptcy and debtor/creditor : examples & explanations - Brian A. Blum
Call Number: KF1524.85 .B58 2014 Circ/Reserve
ISBN: 9781454833918
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
The broker's practical guide to commercial leasing - Sidney G. Saltz
Call Number: KF593.C6 S35 2014
ISBN: 9781627222945
Publication Date: 2014
Summary: "a clear, concise explanation of the legal issues commonly encountered in commercial leasing transactions." From the publisher.

Cover Art
Cases and materials on federal constitutional law - Thomas H. Odom
Call Number: KF8719 .O36 2008
ISBN: 1422422054
Publication Date: 2008
Contents: V. 1. Introduction to interpretive methods & introduction to the federal judicial power -- v. 2. Introduction to the federal executive power & separation of powers issues -- v. 3. Introduction to the federal legislative power -- v. 4. Federal limitations on state and federal power : the Contracts Clause, Supremacy Clause, "dormant" Commerce Clause, and the Tenth Amendment -- v. 5. The Fourteenth Amendment --

Cover Art
Climate change and the law - Chris Wold
Call Number: K3593 .W65 2013
ISBN: 0769860265
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: The science of climate change -- Responding to climate change: mitigation -- Responding to climate change: adaptation -- The international response to climate change: the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change -- The Kyoto protocol -- Beyond 2012 : building the post-Kyoto climate regime -- Implementing Kyoto through the carbon markets -- Land use and forestry -- The non-carbon and non-UNFCC agendas -- Climate change and the international trade regime -- Customary law, human rights and climate change -- U.S. climate policy -- Climate change regulation under the clean air act -- Climate change regulation under federal environmental statutes -- U.S. law and policy : energy -- U.S. law and policy : transportation -- Climate change in the courts : jurisdiction and common law litigation -- State and local responses to climate change -- Decarbonization in the anthropocene

Cover Art
Compliance 101 - Debbie Toklus & Greg Warner
Call Number: KF5387 .C6557 2011
ISBN: 0977843076
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: What's in a name? -- Organizational steps -- Tailoring your compliance program -- Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) -- Epilogue

Cover Art
Conducting needs assessments : a multidisciplinary approach - Fernando I. Soriano
Call Number: HV91 .S6267 2013
ISBN: 9781412965736
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Preface -- Introduction -- Dedication -- Foundational knowledge -- Conceptual and theoretical considerations in understanding needs assessments -- Socio-political and economic considerations -- Social, gender and cultural considerations -- Planning -- Planning your needs assessment -- Methods -- Quantitative assessment methods -- Quantitative data preparation and statistical analysis -- Qualitative methods -- Qualitative data preparation and statistical analysis -- Approaching participants -- Recruiting and collecting data from participants -- Finalizing the study -- Reporting and presenting study findings -- Appendix needs assessment guide and checklist -- References -- Subject index -- About the author

Cover Art
Connecticut insurance law - Michael S. Taylor, Karen L. Dowd, Brendon P. Levesque
Call Number: KFC 3791.A43 T5 2013
ISBN: 1576256448
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Principles of Insurance Coverage -- Policy Interpretation -- Insurance Contracts -- Third-Party (Liability) Coverage -- First-Party (Life and Property) Coverage -- Unisured and Unerinsured Motorist's Coverage -- Excess and Umbrella Coverage -- Reinsurance -- Litigation of Coverage Disputes -- Extracontractual Liability -- Allocation and Primacy Issues -- Agents and Brokers -- Table of Cases -- Table of Statutes -- Index

Cover Art
Constitutional law - Erwin Chemerinsky
Call Number: KF4549 .C44 2013
ISBN: 9781454817536
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: The federal judicial power -- The federal legislative power -- The federal executive power -- Limits on state regulatory and taxing power -- The structure of the Constitution's protection of civil rights and civil liberties -- Economic liberties -- Equal protection -- Fundamental rights under due process and equal protection -- First Amendment : freedom of expression -- First Amendment : religion

Cover Art
Constitutional law - Philip J. Prygoski, Dan Ray
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 P794 2013
ISBN: 9780314286079
Publication Date: 2013
Sum & Substance series.


Cover Art
Criminal procedure : the Constitution and the police : examples & explanations - Robert M. Bloom, Mark S. Brodin
Call Number: KF9630 .B578 2013
ISBN: 9781454815464
Publication Date: 2013
Examples & Explanations

Cover Art
Domestic violence law - Nancy K.D. Lemon, editor
Call Number: KF9320 .D657 2013
ISBN: 0314277064
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: History and overview -- Domestic violence: causes, effects, and treatment -- Cross-cultural issues: survivors of domestic violence who face multiple oppressions -- Battering in gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer relationships -- Suing batterers in tort actions -- Civil restraining orders -- Children in homes where domestic violence takes place -- Alternative dispute resolution -- Rape of intimate partners -- Law enforcement response -- Prosecutorial response -- Judges, courts, and sentencing batterers -- Victims of domestic violence as criminal defendants -- Federal responses: violence against women act, restrictions on firearms -- Confidentiality and safety issues, including mandatory reporting of domestic violence -- Financial, employment, and housing issues affecting survivors of domestic violence -- Immigration and human rights issues

Cover Art
Dressing constitutionally : hierarchy, sexuality, and democracy from our hairstyles to our shoes - Ruthann Robson
Call Number: KF390.5.C56 R63 2013
ISBN: 9780521761659
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: "The intertwining of our clothes and our Constitution raise fundamental questions of hierarchy, sexuality, and democracy. From our hairstyles to our shoes, constitutional considerations both constrain and confirm our daily choices. In turn, our attire and appearance provide multilayered perspectives on the United States Constitution and its interpretations. Our garments often raise First Amendment issues of expression or religion, but they also prompt questions of equality on the basis of gender, race, and sexuality. At work, in court, in schools, in prisons, and on the streets, our clothes and grooming provoke constitutional controversies. Additionally, the production, trade, and consumption of apparel implicates constitutional concerns including colonial sumptuary laws, slavery, wage and hour laws, and current notions of free trade. The regulation of what we wear--or don't--is ubiquitous. From a noted constitutional scholar and commentator, this book examines the rights to expression and equality, as well as the restraints on government power, as they both limit and allow control of our most personal choices of attire and grooming"--Provided by publisher

Cover Art
The emergency sasquatch ordinance and other real laws that human beings have actually dreamed up, enacted, and sometimes even enforced - Kevin Underhill
Call Number: K183 .U53 2013
ISBN: 1627222693
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: You'll find more than 200 unusual, bizarre, and absurd laws that seem too weird to be true, but are indeed true. The book begins with the laws of ancient Sumeria and Babylon, then moves on to the laws of the ancient Greeks and Romans, and also features some examples from medieval times. All the ancient laws discussed here are translations from languages other than English. Most of the book is comprised of laws inflicted on the population of the United States. The book then concludes with a selection of modern(ish) laws from other countries, some of which have a legal system similar to that of the United States, some of which have a completely different tradition. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Employment discrimination : a context and practice casebook - Susan Grover, Sandra F. Sperino, Jarod S. Gonzalez
Call Number: KF3464 .G76 2011 Circ/Reserve
ISBN: 1594606056
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Introduction to employment discrimination law -- Coverage of statutes -- Disparate treatment -- Disparate impact -- Discriminatory harassment -- Retaliation -- Religion and accommodation -- Disability discrimination -- Protected traits and special issues -- Administrative and litigation procedures -- Remedies -- Capstone experience -- Resources for further skills development,

Cover Art
Employment discrimination : examples & explanations - Joel Wm. Friedman
Call Number: KF3464 .F738 2014 Circ/Reserve
ISBN: 9781454816102
Publication Date: 2014
Contents: Individual claims of intentional discrimination -- Systematic claims of intentional discrimination -- Non-intentional discrimination: disparate impact -- A general overview: proper plaintiffs, suable defendants, covered practices, exceptions, and exemptions -- Special proof issues under Title VII: defenses, sexual harassment, and retaliation -- Specific issues involving the five protected classifications: race, color, religion, sex, and national origin -- Enforcement: procedures -- Enforcement: remedies -- The reconstruction Civil Rights Acts-42 U.S.C. 1981, 1983 & 1985-and the Equal Pay Act -- The age discrimination in Employment Act -- Discrimination on the basis of disability

Cover Art
Environmental law - Steven Ferrey,
Call Number: KF3775 .F45 2013
ISBN: 9781454809388
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Environmental ethics, standards, markets, and the common law -- Administrative procedure for environmental regulation -- The National Environmental Policy Act -- Constitutional issues : the commerce clause and environmental preemption -- Air quality regulation -- Water pollution -- Rights to use water -- The management of hazardous and solid wastes : RCRA -- The superfund : hazardous substance remediation -- Local environmental controls -- Preservation of natural areas : wetlands and open space -- Energy and the environment -- The Endangered Species Act -- TSCA and FIFRA : regulating chemical manufacture and distribution -- International environmental law

Cover Art
ERISA survey of federal circuits - Brooks R. Magratten
Call Number: KF3512 .E725 2014
ISBN: 1627222766
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Federal criminal trials - Judge James Cissell
Call Number: KF9656 .C57 2013
ISBN: 076989299X
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Pt. I. Constitutional protections and procedures. Jurisdiction and venue -- Search and seizure -- Fifth and sixth amendment protections -- The grand jury and immunity -- Preliminary proceedings -- Arraignment and plea -- Pretrial discovery and disclosure -- Trial discovery of prior statements -- Joinder and severance -- Jeopardy and mistrial -- Prosecutorial misconduct and vindictiveness -- Trial -- Post-trial proceedings -- pt. II. The law of evidence. Judicial notice -- Weight of the evidence and relevancy -- Demonstrative evidence -- Documentary evidence -- Examination of a witness -- Privileges -- Opinion evidence -- Hearsay and exceptions -- Appendix A. Amendments to the Constitution of the United States -- Appendix B. Federal rules of criminal procedure -- Appendix C. Federal rules of evidence

Cover Art
Federal evidence - Christopher B. Mueller
Call Number: KF8935 .L68 2013
ISBN: 9780735579682
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Federal Rules of Evidence have been dramatically amended over the years since their adoption in 1975 and interpretive caselaw has exploded, the authors have stayed true to their original mission: to provide a practical tool, both comprehensive and manageable, for litigators and judges. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Gender and equality in Muslim family law : justice and ethics in the Islamic legal tradition - Ziba Mir-Hosseini, editor
Call Number: KBP540.3 .G46 2013
ISBN: 9781848859227
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Introduction: Muslim family law and the question of equality / Ziba Mir-Hosseini, Kari Vogt, Lena Larsen and Christian Moe -- Justice, equality and Muslim family laws : new ideas, new prospects / Ziba Mir-Hosseini -- Qiwāma in Egyptian family laws : "wifely obedience" between legal texts, courtroom practices and realities of marriages / Mulki Al-Sharmani -- Egyptian women's rights NGOs : personal status law reform between Islamic and international human rights law / Marwa Sharafeldin -- The religious arguments in the debate on the reform of the Moroccan family code / Aïcha El Hajjami -- From local to global : sisters in Islam and the making of Musawah : a global movement for equality in the Muslim family / Zainah Anwar -- Gender equality and the doctrine of Wilāya / Muhammad Kahlid Masud -- The status of women between the Qur'an and Fiqh / Nasr Abu-Zayd -- Gender equality and the hadith of the prophet Mohammad : reinterpreting the concept of Maḥram and Qiwāma / Faqihuddin Abdul Kodir -- Rethinking men's authority over women : Qiwāma, Wilāya, and their underlying assumptions / Hassan Yousefi Eshkevari -- Revisiting women's rights in Islam : "egalitarian justice" in lieu of "deserts-based justice" / Mohsen Kadivar -- The paradox of equality and the politics of difference : gender equality, Islamic law and the modern Muslim state / Anver M. Emon

Cover Art
Gibson's New York legal research guide - William H. Manz
Call Number: KFN5074 .G53 2014
ISBN: 0837739756
Publication Date: 2014
Summary: A comprehensive legal research guide for New York State as well as New York City law, with complete coverage of the rich legal history of the City and its current primary and secondary legal research sources. The 4th ed. covers new developments since the 3rd ed. (2004) in both print and electronic sources of information, including Bloomberg BNA, and the online availability of many old, out-of-print titles.--Publisher

Cover Art
Global issues in commercial law - Kristen David Adams, Claude D. Rohwer
Call Number: K1005 .A33 2010
ISBN: 9780314199935
Publication Date: 2010
Contents: Choice of law : substantive considerations -- Interpreting and supplementing the CISG -- Choice of forum -- Interest and usury -- Commercial agents : franchises -- Extraterritoriality ; enforcement and claw back laws -- Microfinance -- Letters of credit and documentary sales -- Bankruptcy

Cover Art
Health law : cases, materials, and problems - Barry R. Furrow
Call Number: KF3821.A7 H43 2013
ISBN: 0314265090
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Cost, quality, access, and choice -- Quality control regulation : licensing health care professionals -- Quality control regulation of health care institutions -- The professional-patient relationship -- Liability of health care professionals -- Liability of health care institutions -- Health care cost and access : the policy context -- Duties to treat -- Private health insurance and managed care : liability and state and federal regulation -- Public health care financing programs : medicare and medicaid -- Professional relationships in health care enterprises -- The structure of the health care enterprise -- Fraud and abuse -- Antitrust -- Reproduction and birth -- Legal issues in human genetics -- Organ transplantation and the determination of death -- Life and death decisions -- Medically assisted dying -- Regulation of research involving human subjects

Cover Art
The international human rights law sourcebook - Andrew Borene, Alice Beauheim Borene, and Michael Sullivan
Call Number: K3238 .I573 2014
ISBN: 1627224092
Publication Date: 2014
Contents: The Universal Declaration of Human Rights -- Major human rights instruments -- Organizational documents -- Additional documents for context and consideration

Cover Art
Internet publishing perils and practices : a compass for content in the digital domain - John P. Borger, Steven D. Zansberg, editors
Call Number: KF2750 .I59 2013
ISBN: 1627223614
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Where can a lawsuit be brought against you for information posted to your web site, blog, or social media page / by Amba Datta and Alia Smith -- Libel law basics / by Leita Walker and John Borger -- False advertising and unfair competition / by Marc C. Levy and Katie R. Schwalb -- Privacy law basics / by Laura Prather -- Copying and reposting online / by James Rosenfeld and Deborah Adler -- What is your exposure for information posted to your web site, blog, or social media page by third parties / by Steven D. Zansberg -- Read the fine print : web site terms of use and privacy policies / by Larry M. Zanger -- An employer's right to monitor, discipline, and encourage employees' off-duty online / by Kathleen A. Kirby, Todd A. Bromberg, and Kathryne C. Dickerson

Cover Art
Jiu jitsu jurisprudence : a guide to balance your life practice and law practice with Brazilian jiu jitsu - Ryan Danz
Call Number: K120 .D36 2013
ISBN: 161438889X
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: The history of jiu jitsu -- Jiu jitsu movements : getting into position -- Reaping the rewards : the physical benefits of jiu jitsu -- The mental benefit : the brain's change through jiu jitsu -- The emotional benefits of jiu jitsu on your soul -- Success : setting and reaching your goals -- Failure : it is okay to fail if you learn from that moment -- Going beyond the mental, physical, and emotional : other lessons of jiu jitsu -- The jiu jitsu diet

Cover Art
Law and revolution - Harold J. Berman
Call Number: K150 B47 1983
ISBN: 0674517741
Publication Date: 1983
Contents: [1]. The formation of the Western legal tradition -- 2. The impact of the Protestant reformations on the Western legal tradition

Cover Art
The law of armed conflict : an operational approach - Geoffrey S. Corn
Call Number: KZ6355 .L39 2012 Circ/Reserve
ISBN: 9781454806905
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Legal bases for use of force -- History and sources of the law of armed conflict -- Triggering the law of armed conflict -- Law of armed conflict principles : the foundation of conflict regulation -- Combatants, civilians, and other belligerents -- Targeting -- Weapons and tactics -- Wounded and sick -- Civilians -- Detention -- Occupation, termination of hostilities, and transition -- Naval warfare and neutrality -- War crimes -- Command responsibility and compliance mechanisms

Cover Art
Legislative drafting step-by-step - Arthur J. Rynearson
Call Number: KF4950 .R98 2013
ISBN: 9781611633801
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Foreword. The five-steps of legislative drafting & other matters -- How to achieve the intended legal effect -- How to choose the right legislative vehicle -- How to relate to existing law -- How to organize the legislative text -- How to achieve clarity -- Postscript. Legislative drafting and the rule of law

Cover Art
A legislative history : the development of the ABA model rules of professional conduct, 1982-2013 - Art Garwin, Editor
Call Number: KF306 .L45 2013
ISBN: 1627223851
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This Legislative History traces the Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Model Rules) from the appointment of the ABA Commission on Evaluation of Professional Standards ("Kutak Commission") in 1977 through the year 2013. It includes the first presentation of the Model Rules format to the American Bar Association House of Delegates ("House") at the January 1982 ABA Midyear Meeting by the Kutak Commission, the adoption of the Model Rules at the August 1983 ABA Annual Meeting, and the many amendments to the Model Rules that have been adopted or proposed through 2013. From the publisher.

Cover Art
LinkedIn in one hour - Dennis Kennedy and Allison C. Shields
Call Number: HM742 .K46 2013
ISBN: 162722310X
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: About the authors -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction: what linkedin is, why so many people use it, and why you should too -- Lesson 1: Setting up an account : choosing between basic and premium account options -- Lesson 2: Completing your basic profile -- Lesson 3: Creating a robust, dynamic profile -- Lesson 4: Getting started with connections -- Lesson 5: Making even more connections -- Lesson 6: Using LinkedIn search -- Lesson 7: participating on LinkedIn using updates and groups -- Lesson 8: Benefiting from LinkedIn endorsements and recommendations -- Lesson 9: Monitoring your network -- Lesson 10: Optimizing your settings -- Conclusion: developing a simple LinkedIn strategy and three action steps -- Advanced topics -- Company pages -- Using LinkedIn in the hiring process -- LinkedIn mobile apps -- LinkedIn ads -- Advanced search techniques -- Sixty LinkedIn tips -- Resources

Cover Art
The little book of golf law - John H. Minan
Call Number: KF3989 .M56 2013
ISBN: 162722419X
Publication Date: 2913
Summary: In ten parts covering legal areas from torts to intellectual property to environmental law, this revised and expanded edition of the classic Little Book explores thirty-nine cases in which the rules of golf spilled over into the rules of law. Each chapter examines a different set of facts and involves an actual case. The chapters explore a wide array of legal issues, from personal injury claims for negligence to products liability, contract disputes, and more. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Little book of holiday law - Ursula Furi-Perry
Call Number: KF4868.R45 F87 2013
ISBN: 1627224173
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: In twelve chapters--one for each month--The Little Book of Holiday Law covers holidays big and small, religious and secular, and looks at many different types of cases. From the publisher.

Cover Art
The marble and the sculptor : from law school to law practice - Keith Lee
Call Number: KF297 .L44 2013
ISBN: 1614388865
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Law school -- Fundamental skills -- Clients and client service -- Professional development

Cover Art
Marriage and slavery in early Islam - Kecia Ali
Call Number: KBP542.35 .A43 2010
ISBN: 0674050592
Publication Date: 2010
Contents: Transacting marriage -- Maintaining relations -- Claiming companionship -- Untying the knot -- Marriage and dominion

Cover Art
Moynihan's introduction to the law of real property : an historical background of the common law of real property and its modern application - Sheldon F. Kurtz
Call Number: KF570 .M6 2011
ISBN: 0314275460
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: History, tenure, and seisin -- Freehold estates -- Nonfreehold estates (landlord and tenant) -- Future interests : the reversionary interests -- Future interests : the remainders -- Common law methods of conveyancing and recording statutes -- Uses and the statute of uses : validating executory interests at law -- The effect of the statute of uses -- Concurrent ownership

Cover Art
New Jersey estate litigation - Michaeal R. Griffinger and Paul F. Cullum
Call Number: KFN1944 .G75 2006
ISBN: 9781576252604
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Patent litigation and strategy - Kimberly A. Moore
Call Number: KF3155 .M66 2013
ISBN: 9780314278654
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Introduction -- The parties : who can bring suit? -- The proper court : where can you bring suit? -- The pleadings -- Discovery -- Experts -- Post-discovery strategies and preparation for trial -- Claim construction -- Proving infringement -- Proving noninfringement -- Proving invalidity -- Proving unenforceability -- Injunctive relief -- Damages -- Jury instructions, special verdict forms, post-trial motions, and final judgements -- The appeal -- Post-issuance proceedings at the PTO

Cover Art
Perfecting the Constitution : the case for the Article V amendment process - Darren Patrick Guerra
Call Number: KF4555 .G84 2013
ISBN: 9780739168387
Publication Date: 2013
Contents; Creation of Article V -- Perfecting the Constitution -- Constitutional Revolution -- An Ultimate Remedy : Creating and Ratifying Article V -- The Founders' Article V Consensus -- Criticism of Article V -- The Progressive Challenge to Article V -- The Critics : Article V is Too Difficult -- The Critics : Article V is Undemocratic -- The Critics : Article V is Too Formal -- Conclusion : The Case for Article V

Cover Art
Principles of evidence - Graham C. Lilly
Call Number: KF8935 .L54 2012
ISBN: 9780314279958
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction -- The framework -- Relevance : general principles and special applications -- Relevance : special applications driven by social policy -- Hearsay : what is it? -- Hearsay exemptions -- Hearsay exceptions -- Hearsay and the confrontation clause -- Impeachment -- Privilege -- Expert testimony and scientific evidence -- Burdens and presumptions -- The best evidence rule

Cover Art
Property law : principles, problems, and cases - Calvin Massey
Call Number: KF560 .M37 2012
ISBN: 9780314268105
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Property law : principles, problems, and cases - Calvin Massey
Call Number: KF560 .M37 2012
ISBN: 9780314268105
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Questions & answers. Evidence : multiple choice and short answer questions and answers - David P. Leonard
Call Number: KF8935.Z9 L46 2004a
ISBN: 9780820562438
Publication Date: 2004
Contents: Preserving error; Appellate review -- Technical objections -- Witness competency -- Logical relevance; Exclusion for reasons of prejudice or other dangers -- Preliminary questions of fact -- Classification of evidence as hearsay or not hearsay -- Exceptions to (and exemptions from) the hearsay rule -- Evidence of character, 'other crimes, wrongs, or acts,' habit, and similar events -- Evidence of subsequent remedial measures, compromise, humanitarian assistance, criminal pleas, and liability insurance -- Impeachment and cross-examination of witnesses -- Authentication -- The best evidence rule -- Judicial notice -- Burdens of proof and presumptions -- Evidentiary privileges -- Lay and expert opinion; Scientific evidence

Cover Art
Questions & answers. Federal estate and gift taxation - James M. Delaney and Elaine Hightower Gagliardi
Call Number: KF6572 .D45 2009
ISBN: 0820570125
Publication Date: 2009
Summary: This study guide includes multiple-choice questions, short-answer questions, and a practice final exam. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Questions & answers. Torts : multiple choice, short answers, essay issue-spotters, and 90-minute practice final exam - Anita Bernstein and David P. Leonard
Call Number: KF1250.Z9 B47 2010
ISBN: 9781422476567
Publication Date: 2010
Contents: Intentional torts : battery and assault -- Intentional torts : invasions into land, harm to property, and false imprisonment -- Defenses to intentional torts -- Negligence : the duty of care -- Negligence : breach of duty -- Negligence : causation-actual and proximate -- Defenses to negligence -- Strict liability and nuisance -- Products liability -- Defamation -- Invasion of privacy -- Emotional distress -- Harm to economic interests -- Damages -- Multiple defendants and vicarious liability

Cover Art
Quickbooks in one hour for lawyers - Lynette Benton
Call Number: KF320.A2 B46 2013
ISBN: 9781627221610
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Getting started -- Chart of accounts -- Customers & jobs -- Items & services -- Price levels -- Payroll -- Time tracking -- Reporting on time -- Memorizing reports -- Billing clients -- Receiving payments -- Reporting on clients -- Handling expenditures -- Vendors -- Your check register -- Recording credit card activity -- Generating financial reports -- Preparing 1099s -- Final notes : other important stuff

Cover Art
Resolving disputes : theory, practice, and law - Jay Folberg
Call Number: KF9084 .R475 2010
ISBN: 0735589011
Publication Date: 2010
Contents: Dispute resolution : what it's all about -- Negotiation and conflict : the big picture -- Perception, fairness, psychological traps, and emotions -- Negotiator styles -- The negotiation dance : step by step -- Gender, culture, and race -- The ethical negotiator -- The law of negotiation -- Mediation : the big picture -- A deeper look into the process -- Representing clients : preparation -- Representing clients : during the process -- Specific applications -- Court-connected mediation and fairness concerns -- The law and ethics of mediation -- Arbitration : the big picture -- Arbitration agreements, procedures, and awards -- The legal framework supporting arbitration -- Fairness in arbitration : developments in employment, consumer and "adhesion" contexts -- Matching the process to the dispute -- Dispute resolution design : stepped clauses and conflict management systems -- Looking ahead : opportunities and challenges in ADR and conflict management

Cover Art
Scholarly writing for law students : seminar papers, law review notes, and law review competition papers - Elizabeth Fajans, Mary R. Falk
Call Number: KF250 .F35 2011 Circ/Reserve
ISBN: 0314207201
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Introduction: scholarly writing in law school -- Inspiration: choosing a topic and developing a thesis -- The mostly research stage -- The writing process: getting it down on paper -- The writing process: revising and polishing -- Footnotes and the ethical use of borrowed materials -- Writing with care -- Writing with style -- The law review process: evaluating and editing the work of others -- Getting mileage: winning awards, publishing your work, and joining the conversation -- Appendix A: Sample casenote/competition paper -- Appendix B: Answers to exercises -- Appendix C: Scholarly writing workshops and courses

Cover Art
A short & happy guide to constitutional law - Mark C. Alexander
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 A37 2013
ISBN: 9780314286055
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: The Supreme Court's authority and role -- Cases and controversies : justiciability -- The commerce power -- The Dormant Commerce Clause -- Spending power -- Separation of powers -- Fundamental rights and incorporation -- Due process -- State actions and the beginnings of constitutional law -- Equal protection -- Top ten exam tips -- Courage

Cover Art
So rich, so poor : why it's so hard to end poverty in America - Peter Edelman
Call Number: HC110.P6 E34 2013
ISBN: 1595589368
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: So Rich, So Poor delves into what is happening to the people behind the statistics and takes a particular look at the continuing crisis of young people of color, whose possibility of a productive life too often is lost on their way to adulthood. This is crucial reading for anyone who wants to understand the most critical American dilemma of the twenty-first century. From the publisher.

Cover Art
A student's guide to hearsay - Clifford S. Fishman
Call Number: KF8969 .F57 2011b
ISBN: 0769846963
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: The hearsay rule and its rationale -- Defining and recognizing hearsay -- Exceptions to the hearsay definition, exceptions to the hearsay rule : an introduction -- Exceptions to the hearsay definition : prior statements by witnesses, Rule 801(d)(1) -- Exceptions to the hearsay definition : opposing party's statement Rule 801(d)(2) -- Hearsay and the Sixth Amendment confrontation clause -- Exceptions to the hearsay rule : preliminary matters, multiple hearsay, credibility and impeachment -- Rule 803 : the "regardless of whether the declarant is available as a witness" exceptions : common oral statements, Rules 803(1)-803(4) -- Rule 803 : the "regardless of whether the declarant is available as a witness" exceptions : common written statements Rules 612 & 803(5)-803(10) -- Rule 803 : the "regardless of whether the declarant is available as a witness" exceptions : miscellaneous exceptions Rules 803(11)-803(23) -- Rule 804 : exceptions to the rule against hearsay : when the declarant is unavailable as a witness -- The "residual exception" : Rule 807

Cover Art
Tolerating intolerance : the price of protecting extremism - Amos N. Guiora
Call Number: K3242 .G85 2014
ISBN: 9780199331826
Publication Date: 2014
Contents: The complexities defining extremism -- The dangers extremism poses to society -- Multiculturalism -- Religious extremism: causes and examples of harm -- The power of the Internet and social media in facilitating extremist movements and ideas -- Contemporary social tensions (i.e., economic crises, breakdown of traditional family structure) -- The power of "hate speech" and what, if any, limits should be imposed on free speech in the context of extremism -- Looking forward

Cover Art
Torts - Edward J. Kionka
Call Number: KF1250.Z9 K527 2013
ISBN: 0314275525
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Intentional torts -- Negligence -- Causation -- Special liability rules for particular activities -- Strict liability -- Damages for physical harm -- Survival and wrongful death -- Non-physical harm : misrepresentation, defamation, and privacy

Cover Art
Understanding constitutional law - John B. Attanasio, Joel K. Goldstein
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 R43 2012
ISBN: 076984734X
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: The constitution and constitutional argument -- The courts and judicial review -- Congressional power -- Commerce clause -- The federal system -- Commerce and the states : the dormant commerce clause -- Executive power -- Liberty, property, and due process, taking and contract clauses -- Racial equality -- Equal rights for the sexes -- Affirmative action -- Equal protection for other groups and interests -- Political speech and association -- Government and the media : print and electronic -- Speech in public places -- Special doctrines in the system of freedom of expression -- Government and religious freedom

Cover Art
A wild justice : the death and resurrection of capital punishment in America - Evan J. Mandery
Call Number: KF9227.C2 M39 2013
ISBN: 0393239586
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: An audacious idea, 1963-1971. An audacious idea ; The most important law firm in America ; Surcease of sorrow ; A near knockout ; To license a laundry, to license a life -- Death, 1971-1972. Young lawyers ; Boiling in oil ; Nine law firms ; Whizzer ; Lightning bolts ; A red-letter day -- Resurrection. 1972-1976. Sobering up ; Behind the backlash ; Proving deterrence and rationality ; The lion in winter ; The sausage factory ; Taking stock ; The main event ; The center in control ; Postscript: what might have been -- Glossary of key cases

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip