This is the "Home" page of the "New Law Library Acquisitions - April 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Law Library Acquisitions - April 2013  

Selected new titles added to the Law Library's collection in April 2013
Last Updated: May 7, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.law.quinnipiac.edu/April2013 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Titles

Cover Art
The 27th annual National institute on White Collar Crime - National Institute on White Collar Crime (27th : 2013)
Call Number: National Institute on White Collar Crime (27th : 2013)
ISBN: 1614389101
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: eDiscovery in Government Investigations and Criminal Litigation -- Beyond Boilerplate: Making Motions Work -- Recent Trials -- The Foreign Corrupt Practices Act-Recent Developments and New Trends -- Trial Tactics in White Collar Cases: the Jury -- Securities Fraud: What's Happening Post-Indictment? -- Money Laundering and Asset Forfeiture -- Criminal Tax Enforcement -- Litigating FCPA Cases: Prosecution and Defense Strategies -- Ethics in White Collar Cases -- Do's and Don'ts of an Internal Corporate Inquiry -- The Intersection of Export Controls and Economic Sanction-What You Need to Know about OFAC, ITAR and EAR -- What are the Odds? The Future of U.S. Criminal Law Enforcement for Online Gaming and Online Piracy Against Offshore Companies and Individuals -- Conducting Global Investigations -- Sentencing Strategies: Advocacy in White Collar Cases -- The New Landscape of Insider Trading Cases -- Antitrust Enforcement in 2012-2013: Planes, Banks and Automobiles -- Cybercrime -- Complying with Brady and Strategies for Defense Counsel -- Environmental Enforcement -- Healthcare Fraud and False Claims Act

Cover Art
Advanced criminal procedure : cases, comments and questions - Yale Kamisar
Call Number: KF9618 .M62 2012
ISBN: 0314911685
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: pt. 1. Introduction -- pt. 3. The commencement of formal proceedings -- pt. 4. The adversary system and the determination of guilt or innocence -- pt. 5. Appeals, post-conviction review

Cover Art
Ames, Chafee, and Re on remedies - Emily Sherwin, Theodore Eisenberg, and Joseph R. Re
Call Number: KF398 .S52 2012
ISBN: 1599418630
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction -- History of damages -- General principles governing damages -- Measuring damages -- The history of equity -- Equity powers of courts -- Injunctions -- The measure of injunctive relief : scope and specificity -- Specific performance of contracts -- Rescission, reformation, and other forms of equitable relief -- The history of restitution -- Restitution -- Punitive damages -- Remedial defenses -- Winding up : collection of judgments and payment of lawyers

Cover Art
Basic criminal procedure : cases, comments and questions - Yale Kamisar
Call Number: KF9618 .K3625 2012
ISBN: 0314911669
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: pt. 1. Introduction -- pt. 2. Police practices

Cover Art
Bioinformatics law : legal issues for computational biology in the post-genome era - Jorge L. Contreras and A. James Cuticchia, editors
Call Number: K3611.G46 B557 2013
ISBN: 1627220100
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: In this concise volume, you'll find a collection of cutting-edge research and commentary from leading scholars, bioethicists and legal practitioners in an attempt to cover the broad and ever-changing intersection of law and bioinformatics. The book begins with an overview of the evolving bioinformatics field then explores legal issues surrounding the software tools that enable large-scale computational biology, including procurement and licensing of commercial software systems, in-house and contracted software development and issues surrounding open source software. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Building your ladder : an associate's guide to success beyond partnership - Marian Lee
Call Number: KF300 .L44 2013
ISBN: 1614389047
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Grappling with the market downturn, a fragile economy, reduced demand for legal services, and tighter client control over legal spending, law firms are promoting fewer associates to partnership and looking more closely at the performance of existing partners, particularly in the junior ranks. As a new partner in today's legal world, you can no longer ramp up at a leisurely pace. In a relatively short time, you need to prove you can produce and manage business, manage people, and add value to the firm in other ways as well.

Cover Art
Careers in IP law : avenues and opportunities - Sharra S. Brockman
Call Number: KF3165.Z9 B76 2013
ISBN: 1614389993
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Getting your feet wet : an introduction to intellectual property law and practice -- Get Ready, get set : preparing to practice intellectual property law during law school or preparing to make a change as an established lawyer -- Promoting the progress of science : patent law as a specialty -- And the useful arts : copyright law as a specialty -- What's in a name? : trademark law as a specialty -- IP goes incognito : trade secret law as a specialty -- Now what? : common intellectual property practice areas -- The sky's the limit : employment opportunities for intellectual property lawyers -- Lessons from the trenches : advice from practitioners -- Diving in : how to get involved in the ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law (ABA-IPL)

Cover Art
Cases and materials on the law of torts - George C. Christie, Joseph Sanders, W. Jonathan Cardi
Call Number: KF1249 .C48 2012
ISBN: 0314266941
Publication Date: 2012
Introduction -- Intentional torts -- Negligence -- Negligence : foundational duties -- Causation -- Negligence : special duties -- Others' conduct as a contributing cause -- Strict liability -- Products liability -- Damages in personal injury cases -- Liability insurance -- Tort reform and nontort compensation programs -- Interests in land (nuisance and trespass) -- Torts for economic injury -- Intentiona infliction of emotional distress -- Defamation -- Privacy -- False imprisonment and misuse of legal process -- Constitutional torts

Cover Art
The common law process of torts - David Weissbrodt, Mary Patricia Byrn, Donald Marshall
Call Number: KF1296 .M37 2012
ISBN: 0769849148
Publication Date: 2012
Summary: This book seeks to explain tort law through an examination of the common law process and the substantive rules and principles that have emerged as a result. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Discovery problems and their solutions - Paul W. Grimm, Charles S. Fax, Paul Mark Sandler
Call Number: KF8900 .G758 2013
ISBN: 1614389586
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Discovery Problems and their Solutions, Third Edition teaches effective discovery...The Third Edition also continues its keen focus on practice under the 2006 electronic discovery amendments to the Rules. Electronic discovery is inherently different from other types of discovery, and this book insightfully takes those differences into account. From the publisher.

Cover Art
DNA for the defense bar - U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, DNA Initiative
Call Number: KF8935 .D53 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction -- DNA basics : the science of DNA -- Discovery : getting to know a case with DNA evidence -- DNA evidence : evaluation, assessment and response -- DNA basics : laboratory issues -- DNA basics : understanding and evaluating test results -- DNA basics : pretrial preparation -- DNA basics : trial issues -- Delayed prosecutions, cold case hits and CODIS -- Proactive uses of DNA -- Glossary -- Appendixes*. Appendix A: Recommendations of the Kinship and Data Analysis Panel (KADAP) to the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner of New York City during the World Trade Center DNA Identification Effort -- Appendix B: Sample personal items submission form -- Appendix C: Sample family and/or donor reference collection form -- Appendix D: Sample family tree form -- Appendix E: Guidelines for family and/or doctor reference collection kit components and oral swab collection instructions -- Appendix F: Issues to consider when outsourcing reference samples -- Appendix G: Identifying victims using DNA : a guide for families -- Appendix H: Sample analysis : an overview -- Appendix I: Additional references on statistical issues in DNA identification

Cover Art
Energy networks and the law : innovative solutions in changing markets - Martha M. Roggenkamp, editor
Call Number: K3982 .E534 2012
ISBN: 0199645035
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Energy networks and the law : innovative solutions in changing markets / Donald N. Zillman ... [et al.] -- Canadian energy infrastructure and the federalist dilemma / Alastair R. Lucas -- Law and regulation governing electricity networks in Mexico in the context of regional integration with North and Central America / José Juan González -- South American energy network integration : mission possible? / Lila Barrera-Hernández -- The Chad-Cameroon pipeline project : some thoughts about the legal challenges and lessons learned from a World Bank-financed large infrastructure project / Mohammed A. Bekhechi -- Contractural and treaty arrangements supporting large European transboundary pipeline projects : can adequate human rights and environmental protection be secured? / Catherine Redgwell -- Protecting energy infrastructure in the EU : the impact of external damages on supply security / Martha M. Roggenkamp -- Smart grids and intelligent energy systems : a European perspective / Anita Rønne -- Demand response and infrastructure development in the United States / LeRoy Paddock and Charlotte Youngblood -- Establishing an offshore electricity grid : a legal analysis of grid developments in the North Sea and in US waters / Olivia Woolley, Peter J. Schaumberg, and Graham St. Michel -- The role of energy networks in facilitating the production and use of renewable energy sources in Norway / Ulf Hammer -- The role of energy networks in developing renewable energy sources in China / Wang Mingyuan -- Economic regulation and the design of a carbon infrastructure for Alberta / Nigel Bankes and Rick Nilson -- Transportation regulation as an instrument for developing natural gas networks in Brazil / Yanko Marcius de Alencar Xavier and Anderson Souza da Silva Lanzillo -- Law and regulation for energy networks in New Zealand / Barry Barton -- Electricity network development : new challenges for Australia / Lee Godden and Anne Kallies -- Evolution and revolution in British energy network regulation : from RPI-X to RIIO / Aileen McHarg -- Third party access exemption policy in the EU gas and electricity sectors : finding the right balance between competition and investments / Tjarda van der Vijver -- Electricity and gas infrastructure planning in the European Union / Iñigo del Guayo and Johann-Christian Pielow -- Regulating the extension of electricity networks : a German perspective / Gunther Kühne -- The development of electricity and gas networks in Russia / Sergey S. Seliverstov and Ivan V. Gudkov -- The role of networks in changing energy markets and the need for innovative solutions / Martha M. Roggenkamp ... [et al.]

Cover Art
Equitable remedies, restitution, and damages : cases and materials - Candace S. Kovacic-Fleischer, Jean C. Love, Grant S. Nelson
Call Number: KF9010.A7 L43 2011
ISBN: 0314194932
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Introduction to remedies -- Basic principles of specific equitable remedies -- Basic principles of damages -- Basic principles of restitution and unjust enrichment -- Declaratory judgments -- Remedies for selected tortious wrongs -- Remedies for breach of contract and fraud -- Law and equity merger : jury trial and related problems

Cover Art
Family law trial evidence handbook : rules and procedures for effective advocacy - Steven N. Peskind
Call Number: KF505 .P47 2013
ISBN: 9781627220033
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This handbook is organized in a practical format that can work for all family law trial lawyers, regardless of whether they practice in a state that uses a variation on the Federal Rules or a common law body of rules on evidence. It combines the substantive knowledge critical to assist family lawyers understand the concepts and theories of evidence with a supremely useful format that ensures that the necessary information can be located and absorbed quickly. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Federal civil jury instructions of the Seventh Circuit - United States. Court of Appeals (7th Circuit). Committee on Pattern Civil Jury Instructions of the Seventh Circuit
Call Number: KF8984 .D44 Seventh Circuit
ISBN: 2162-5719
Publication Date: 2005
Notes: "For use with Federal jury practice and instructions"--Cover

Cover Art
Federal Court of Appeals manual : a manual on practice in the United States Courts of Appeals - David G. Knibb
Call Number: KF9050 .K55 2013
ISBN: 0314617035
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: part A. Starting the appeal. Whether to appeal -- Final judgment rule -- Finality in cases involving multiple parties or claims -- Interlocutory appeals as a matter of right -- Interlocutory appeals by permission -- Extraordinary writs -- When to appeal -- The notice of appeal -- Appellate venue -- Post-judgment motions -- Appeals by additional parties -- Extending or reopening the time to appeal -- part B. Special appeals. Appeals from magistrate judgments -- Bankruptcy appeals -- Appeals in criminal cases -- Habeas corpus and Section 2255 appeals -- Petitions for review of administrative action -- Tax court appeals -- Appeals to the Federal Circuit -- part C. The appeal process. Security for costs on appeal -- Stay pending appeal -- Docketing the appeal -- Certification of legal questions -- Defending the pro se appeal -- Dismissing the appeal -- Proceedings below pending appeal -- Partial remands -- Record on appeal -- Appendix -- Interacting with the Court of Appeals -- Standard of review -- Briefs -- Oral argument -- Disposition of appeal -- Sanctions -- Appendix A. Federal rules of appellate procedure -- Table of cases -- Index

Cover Art
Federal income taxation : cases, problems, and materials - Theodore P. Seto
Call Number: KF6369 .S46 2013
ISBN: 0314927069
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: What should we tax? an introduction to the U.S. income tax system -- Complete accounting -- Time value of money -- Intra-family and other non-arm's-length transfers -- Business or investment vs. personal expenditures -- Ability to pay

Cover Art
Federal wealth transfer taxes - Kevin M. Yamamoto, Samuel A. Donaldson
Call Number: KF6585 .Y36 2011
ISBN: 0314275339
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: The federal estate tax -- Gift tax -- Generation skipping transfer tax

Cover Art
Frequently asked antitrust questions - ABA Section of Antitrust Law
Call Number: KF1649.3 .F74 2013
ISBN: 1614389268
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: communications with competitors, dealing with antitrust authorities in the United States and abroad, the Robinson-Patman Act and other pricing issues,vertical arrangements between customers and suppliers, and more.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of transnational litigation : the United States, Canada, Japan, and the European Union - John O. Haley
Call Number: K7615 .H35 2012
ISBN: 1422497054
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Adjudicatory jurisdiction -- Foreign sovereign immunity and related abstention doctrines -- Parallel litigation -- Service of process abroad -- Taking of evidence abroad -- Recognition and enforcement of foreign-country judgments and arbitral awards -- Choice of forum

Cover Art
Google gmail and calendar in one hour for lawyers - Carole A. Levitt and Mark E. Rosch
Call Number: KF320.A9 L48 2013
ISBN: 1614387273
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Millions of corporations, small businesses, solo lawyers, large and small law firms, and government agencies have "gone Google." Find out why these organizations moved from hosting their own e-mail servers--and in some cases calendars and documents--to using Google Apps...step-by-step guide for lawyers to learn what features and functions are available in Gmail and Google Calendar, as well as related services such as Google Chat, Google Talk, Google Hangout, and Call Phone. In just one hour, you will learn in plain English how to transform your law practice by using these powerful Google tools to save time and money. From the publisher.

Cover Art
How to succeed as a trial lawyer - Stewart Edelstein
Call Number: KF8915 .E34 2013
ISBN: 1614388016
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Dealing with clients -- Dealing with everyone other than clients you will encounter as a trial lawyer -- Managing and drafting emails and letters -- Drafting documents other than emails and letters -- Preparing for, taking, and defending depositions -- Mediating commercial disputes -- Arbitrating commercial disputes -- Making oral presentations in court -- Presenting an effective plaintiff's case in the courtroom -- Presenting an effective defense in the courtroom -- Dealing with ethical issues -- Marketing your litigation practice -- Coping with stress and creating a life beyond the practice of law -- Succeeding as a trail lawyer: a personal account

Cover Art
International and foreign legal research : a coursebook - Marci Hoffman, Mary Rumsey
Call Number: K85 .H64 2012
ISBN: 9004204806
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction -- English translations -- Effective web research -- Introductory and background sources -- Beyond background sources : books, journal articles and more -- Treaties and international agreements -- Customary international law, generally recognized principles, and judicial decisions -- Foreign law -- Comparative law -- International organizations -- United Nations -- The European Union -- Regional international organizations -- Introduction to researching international topics -- Human rights -- International criminal law -- Intellectual property -- International environmental law -- International trade law -- Private international law -- International commercial arbitration -- International courts and tribunals

Cover Art
International law and sexual violence in armed conflicts - Chile Eboe-Osuji
Call Number: KZ7162 .E26 2012
ISBN: 9004202625
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction -- Aetiology of evil in armed conflicts -- Superior responsibility for the rape of women during armed conflicts -- Defining rape in international criminal law : an unsettled tug of war? -- Rape as genocide and some questions arising -- Armed conflicts, sexual violence and the mens rea of the war crime of terrorism -- Internal armed conflicts, sexual violence and "grave breaches" -- Forced marriage : an international crime? -- Prosecution of sexual violence against women in post-conflict societies -- Reparation for female victims of sexual violence in armed conflicts -- Epilogue

Cover Art
iPad in one hour for litigators - Tom Mighell
Call Number: KF320.A9 M48 2013
ISBN: 161438682X
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: A new case : managing details and deadlines -- Discovery : documents and depositions -- Prepare for trial with the right accessories -- Legal research -- Picking a jury, iPad style -- Evidence presentation -- Tips for using the iPad in court

Cover Art
IRA guide to IRS compliance issues: including IRA Trust violations - Seymour Goldberg, CPA, MBA, JD
Call Number: KF6395.R35 G645 2013
ISBN: 9781614388517
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: This essential guide outlines many of the mistakes that are made by IRA account holders from an IRS compliance point of view, understanding that is quite easy for a taxpayer who has an IRA or inherits an IRA to fall into a tax trap and violate the IRA rules. The IRA Guide to IRS Compliance Issues will help you be aware of the potential IRA violations that may be triggered and how to be proactive and not reactive when it comes to IRA issues.

Cover Art
Kids for cash : two judges, thousands of children, and a $2.8 million kickback scheme - William Ecenbarger
Call Number: HV9105.P22 E34 2012
ISBN: 1595586849
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Matthew, Angelia, Lisa, and Charlie -- Barons and godfathers -- Scooch and the Boss -- Minding their own business -- The elephant in the courtroom -- The cash flows -- Hillary and Jessica -- Disgrace and infamy -- The trial -- The hearings -- Our lock-'em-up society

Cover Art
Labor law : a problem based approach - Paul M. Secunda
Call Number: KF3319 .S43 2012
ISBN: 1422485307
Publication Date: 2012
Summary: Labor Law: A Problem Based Approach features the most important cases, documents, and articlues for students to study in order to become proficient in the practice of American private-sector labor law. From the publisher

Cover Art
Labor law : cases and materials - Archibald Cox
Call Number: KF3318 .C6 2011
ISBN: 1599419505
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Part One. The Evolution Of Labor Relations Laws. Free labor, labor organization, and the law ; Jurisdiction, organization and procedure of the NLRB -- Part Two. The Establishment Of The Collective Bargaining Relationship. Protection of the right of self-organization ; Selection of the representative for the purposes of collective bargaining ; Securing bargaining rights through unfair labor practice proceedings -- Part Three. Negotiation Of The Collective Bargaining Agreement. Exclusive representation and majority rule ; The duty to bargain in good faith ; Subjects of collective bargaining ; The role of the strike and third-party impasse resolution ; Bargaining remedies -- Part Four. Strikes, Picketing And Boycotts. Rights of employee protesters under the NLRA ; Constitutional limitations on government regulation ; The National Labor Relations Act -- Part Five. Administration Of The Collective Agreement. The collective agreement and the grievance procedure ; The nature and functions of labor arbitration ; Judicial enforcement of collective agreements ; The role of the National Labor Relations Board and the arbitrator during the term of a collective agreement -- Part Six. Successorship. -- Part Seven. Labor And The Antitrust Laws. -- Part Eight. Federalism And Labor Relations. -- Preemption of state labor law : an overview ; Specific applications : representation, bargaining and concerted activities -- Part Nine. The Individual And The Union. The right to fair representation ; Union security and the encouragement of union activity ; Discipline of union members and the National Labor Relations Act -- Part Ten. Reconsidering The Labor Act In The Contemporary Context. The changing context ; The "representation gap" ; Labor law reform

Cover Art
Labor law: collective bargaining in a free society - Timothy J. Heinsz, Dennis R. Nolan, Richard A. Bales
Call Number: KF3408 .H45 2009
ISBN: 0314177728
Publication Date: 2009
Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. xiii-xiv) and index

Cover Art
The law and policy of sentencing and corrections : in a nutshell - Lynn S. Branham
Call Number: KF9728 .B733 2013
ISBN: 0314286667
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: part 1. The law and policy of sentencing -- Introduction to sentencing -- Guilty pleas and plea bargaining -- The sentencing process -- Sentencing statutes and guidelines -- Community-based sanctions -- The death penalty -- Cruel and unusual punishment and noncapital cases -- Parole release and probation and parole revocation -- Enmeshed penalties and collateral consequences -- part 2. The law and policy of corrections -- Prisoners' rights : an introduction -- First amendment rights -- Right of access to the courts -- Prison disciplinary proceedings -- Transfers, classification, and prison programming -- Searches, seizures, and privacy rights -- Due-process claims for personal injuries and property deprivations -- Cruel and unusual punishment -- part 3. Prisoners' rights litigation -- The mechanics of litigating inmates' Section [section symbol] 1983 suits -- Remedies

Cover Art
The law of property - Christopher Serkin
Call Number: KF570 .S47 2013
ISBN: 9781609300623
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: pt.1. The origins of private property -- ch.1. Fundamentals -- ch.2. First in time -- ch.3. Chain of title -- pt.2. Dividing property -- ch.4. Estates and future interests -- ch.5. Concurrent interests -- ch.6. Marital property -- ch.7. Leaseholds -- ch.8. Land transfers -- pt.3. Servitudes -- ch.9. Easements -- ch.10. Covenants -- pt.4. Land use controls -- ch.11. Nuisance -- ch.12. Land use regulations -- ch.13. The takings clause and eminent domain -- ch.14. Regulatory takings

Cover Art
The lawyer bubble : a profession in crisis - Steven J. Harper
Call Number: KF300 .H3687 2013
ISBN: 0465058779
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Part I: Law schools -- Tracking the bubble -- The role of the ABA and U.S. news rankings -- Inadequate responses -- Part II: Big law firms -- Attorney dissatisfaction -- The transformation of big law firms -- Surging income inequality -- Continuing destabilization -- Dewey & LeBoeuf: a case study -- Part III: Deflating the bubble -- Law schools -- Big law firms -- Prospective lawyers

Cover Art
Leading constitutional cases on criminal justice - Lloyd L. Weinreb, editor
Call Number: KF9618 .L42 2012
ISBN: 1609301595
Publication Date: 2012
Note: Includes index

Cover Art
The legal assistant's complete desk reference : a handbook for paralegals and assistants - Ursula Furi-Perry, editor
Call Number: KF320.L4 L449 2013
ISBN: 1614389950
Publication Date: 2013
Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index

Cover Art
The little book of space law - Matthew Kleiman
Call Number: KZD1145 .K49 2013
ISBN: 1614388741
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Risk to human life and property -- Loss of satellite payloads -- Environmental impact of launch operations -- Equitable allocation of geostationary orbit -- Orbital debris -- Cyber warfare in outer space -- Patent infringement in outer space -- Licensing commercial reentry activities -- Accidental reentry of hazardous materials -- Preventing planetary contamination -- Protecting Apollo artifacts on the moon -- Ownership of celestial resources : moon rocks -- Ownership of celestial real estate : asteroids

Cover Art
Modern real estate finance and land transfer : a transactional approach - Steven W. Bender
Call Number: KF5698.3 .M25 2008
ISBN: 0735567956
Publication Date: 2008
Contents: The nature of modern real estate transactions -- Overview of contracts for sale and the conveyancing process -- The nature of a mortgage and mortgage substitutes -- Preclosing terms and conditions of the mortgage loan commitment -- Postclosing terms of the mortgage loan commitment -- Construction financing -- Refinancing, secondary financing, and high-ratio financing -- Defaults, workouts, and foreclosure -- Lender liability -- Overview of commercial leasing transactions -- Leasehold and leaseback financing -- Economics of real estate investments -- Overview of taxation of real estate investments -- Selection of the ownership entity -- Securitization -- Common interest communities : condominiums, cooperatives, and planned communities -- Negotiations, mediation, and arbitration -- The impact of bankruptcy on real estate transactions -- Environmental liabilities in real estate transactions

Cover Art
The practitioner's guide to securities arbitration - Jason Ryan Doss
Call Number: KF1070.5 .D67 2013
ISBN: 1614387591
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Introduction -- Who are the players? -- Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) and mandatory arbitration -- Arbitration eligibility -- Statute of limitations -- Unsuitability -- Breach of fiduciary duty -- Failure to supervise -- Churning and unauthorized trading -- Selling away -- Federal claims brought in securities arbitration actions -- State blue sky claims -- Damages -- Initiating finra arbitrations -- Responding to statement of claim -- Appointment, disqualification and authority of arbitrator -- Motion practice -- Limitations of discovery tools -- Confidentiality of documents and information -- Pre-hearing conferences -- Required hearings -- Hearing presentation -- Closing statements and arbitration conclusion

Cover Art
The practitioner's guide to the PCT - Jay Erstling
Call Number: K1505 .P73 2013
ISBN: 1627220143
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: The Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) is the heart of the international patent system and should be considered in every applicants patent filing strategy. When it is used appropriately, the PCT is a cost-effective option for international patent protecting and provides numerous benefits for applicants, patent offices, and third parties...Starting with a clear explanation of the PCT's framework, the books in-depth chapters equip applicants with the tools necessary to effectively use this global, treaty-based system. From the publisher

Cover Art
Principles of remedies law - Russell L. Weaver, Elaine W. Shoben, Michael B. Kelly
Call Number: KF9010.Z9 W42 2011
ISBN: 9780314911568
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Overview -- Equity and equitable remedies -- Contempt -- Preventive injunctions -- Temporary injunctive relief -- Injunctions in context -- Restitution -- Declaratory judgments -- Damages

Cover Art
Principles of wills, trusts and estates - William M. Mcgovern, Sheldon F. Kurtz, David M. English
Call Number: KF755 .M342 2012
ISBN: 9780314273574
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Terminology and choice of law -- Intestate succession -- Limits on testamentary power -- Formalities -- Revocation, gifts, and will substitutes -- Extrinsic evidence -- Incapacity and undue influence -- Ademption, abatement and lapse -- Trusts -- Future interests -- The rule against perpetuities -- Fiduciary duties and administration -- Probate issues -- Planning for incapacity -- Overview of the federal tax laws relating to estates and trusts

Cover Art
Remedies : cases and problems - Elaine W. Shoben, William Murray Tabb, Rachel M. Janutis
Call Number: KF9010.A7 S56 2012
ISBN: 9781609301194
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Basic remedial tools -- Scope of legal and equitable remedies -- Preventive injunctions -- Specific performance -- Equitable defenses -- Interlocutory injunctions -- Contempt -- Modern injunction forms and functions -- Special issues in equity -- Contract damages -- Tort damages -- Adjustments to compensatory damages -- Limitations on compensatory damages -- Special issues in damages -- Punitive damages -- Unjust enrichment -- Limitations on restitutionary remedies -- Jury trials -- Attorney fees -- Declaratory relief

Cover Art
Scientific evidence review : admissibility and use of expert evidence in the courtroom - Cynthia H. Cwik
Call Number: KF8935 .S27 2013
ISBN: 1614389977
Publication Date: 2013
Summary: Introductory overview on United States Supreme Court decisions regarding expert admissibility issues and focuses on state and federal court expert evidence issues, including the Daubert-Joiner-Kumho Tire trilogy. From the publisher.

Cover Art
Social media as evidence : cases, practice pointers, and techniques - Joshua Briones and Ana Tagvoryan
Call Number: KF8947.5 .B75 2013
ISBN: 1614386293
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Introduction to social media -- Retrieval and retention of social media data -- Discovery of social media data in a civil action -- Foundation and authentication -- Use of social media during trial.

Cover Art
Time and workplace management for lawyers - Amy L. Jarmon
Call Number: KF315 .J37 2013
ISBN: 9781614389088
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: General observations -- Know your legal environment -- Basic work management parameters -- Basic time management parameters -- How to deal with competing demands on your time -- How to use staff effectively, ask for assistance, and delegate -- Basic parameters for research and writing projects -- Telephones, e-mail, and social media -- Time and work management away from the office -- Additional commitments you must manage -- Additional comments for non-firm lawyers -- Additional comments for solo practitioners -- Balancing your professional and personal lives -- Preventing burnout

Cover Art
Torts : a contemporary approach - Meredith J. Duncan and Ronald Turner
Call Number: KF1250 .D86 2012
ISBN: 9780314280237
Publication Date: 2012
Contents: Introduction and overview -- Intentional torts -- Defenses to intentional torts -- Negligence -- Causation -- Defenses (and partial defenses) to negligence actions -- Advanced topics in negligence actions -- Strict liability -- Tort damages -- Wrongful death and survival -- Joint tortfeasors -- Immunities -- Vicarious liability -- Nuisance -- Products liability -- Defamation -- Privacy

Cover Art
Trial manual for defense attorneys in juvenile delinquency cases - Randy Hertz, Martin Guggenheim, Anthony G. Amsterdam
Call Number: KF9815 .H47 2013
ISBN: 9781614388531
Publication Date: 2013
Contents; The nature, purpose, and structure of the manual -- Introduction to delinquency practice : the role of defense counsel -- Representing clients before initial hearing : steps to take if a client is at the police station or is wanted by the police -- The initial hearing : prehearing interview; arraignment; pretrial detention arguments; probable-cause hearing -- The client interview -- Case planning : deciding what things to do to prepare for trial and the order in which to do them -- Defense investigation -- Pretrial discovery -- Subpoenaing and preparing defense witnesses to testify at a motions hearing or trial -- Retaining and working with expert witnesses -- Representing clients who are mentally ill or mentally retarded -- Transfer or waiver to adult court -- Guilty pleas -- Defense motions to advance or for a continuance; motions to dismiss for want of prosecution; speedy trial motions -- Motions hearings; motions arguments -- Motions to dismiss the charging paper -- Motions for severance (or consolidation) of counts or respondents -- Motions to dismiss for social reasons -- Motions for a change of venue; motions for recusal of the judge -- Election or waiver of jury trial; motions relating to the jury -- Suppression hearings -- Motions to suppress tangible evidence -- Motions to suppress confessions, admissions, and other statements of the respondent -- Motions to suppress identification testimony -- Interlocutory review of pretrial rulings by means of prerogative writs -- Trial: general characteristics; the opening stage -- Selecting the jury at trial : the voir dire -- Opening statements -- Evidentiary issues that are likely to arise at trial -- Handling prosecution witnesses -- Motion for acquittal (the prima facie motion) -- Presenting the case for the defense -- Objections to evidence; motions for mistrial; proffers; rulings on evidentiary questions -- The closing stage of a bench trial: renewal of the motion for acquittal; closing argument -- The closing stage of a jury trial: renewal of the motion for acquittal; closing argument; jury instructions; the jury's deliberations and verdict -- Postverdict proceedings -- Dispositions -- Appeal and post-disposition proceedings

Cover Art
Trial tactics - Stephen Saltzburg
Call Number: KF8915 .S299 2013
ISBN: 9781614386490
Publication Date: 2013
Contents:
PART ONE: BASIC PRINCIPLES
PART TWO: EXAMINATION OF WITNESSES
PART THREE: LAY AND EXPERT OPINION
PART FOUR: HEARSAY, CONFRONTATION AND COMPULSORY PROCESS
PART FIVE: CHARACTER EVIDENCE
PART SIX: SUMMARIES AND EXHIBITS
PART SEVEN: OPENING AND CLOSING ARGUMENTS
PART EIGHT: MORE HEARSAY
PART NINE: MORE ON EXAMINING WITNESSES
PART TEN: MORE ON OBJECTIONS AND ARGUMENT
PART ELEVEN: MISCELLANEOUS ISSUES

Cover Art
Trusts and estates - Melanie B. Leslie, Stewart E. Stark
Call Number: KF753 .L47 2011
ISBN: 9781599418612
Publication Date: 2011
Contents: Introduction -- Intestate succession -- Protection of the family -- Wills -- Contesting the will -- Trusts -- Powers of appointment -- Future interests -- The rule against perpetuities -- Co-ordinating probate and non-probate transfers -- Administration -- Solutions to problems

Cover Art
Veterans appeals guidebook : representing veterans in the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims - Ron Smith, editor
Call Number: KF7713 .V48 2013
ISBN: 9781614389606
Publication Date: 2013
Contents: Practicing before the CAVC -- Starting the process -- Prebriefing process -- The briefing process -- Postbriefing process

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip